• 17.01.2019 20:00—22:00
Chapel, 120’

Price : 24 eur


Reinbert de Leeuw invites you to join the fascinating Brussels ensemble Het Collectief as they explore the sound universe that inspired Schönberg and his followers so much in early 1920s Vienna. At the time, a group of music lovers would meet for private concerts where they listened to new compositions by musicians such as Berg, Webern or Busoni, who pushed the boundaries of sound ever further towards atonality. They especially liked chamber music arrangements of orchestral works. Today the Dutch conductor and composer follows in their footsteps with verve, partnering with the Belgian soprano Katrien Baerts who lends her suave voice to the interpretation of the music of this important chapter in the history of music. Do you find the rich artistic context of this era supremely interesting? Then why not visit the Beyond Klimt exhibition at BOZAR now!


Berceuse Elégiaque, op. 42 - Ferruccio Busoni
Sieben frühe Lieder, op. 4 (arr. Reinbert de Leeuw) - Alban Berg
Kammersymphonie Nr. 1, op. 9 (arr. Anton Webern) - Arnold Schönberg
Sechs Gesänge nach Maeterlinck, op. 13 (arr. L. Stein, E. Stein. R. de Leeuw) - Alexander von Zemlinsky
Passacaglia, op. 1 (arr. Reinbert de Leeuw) - Anton Webern

Direction :
Reinbert De Leeuw
Soprano :
Katrien Baerts
Production :
Picture :
Katrien Baerts © Claudia Hansen