• 03—05.12.2019 21:00
  • 06+07.12.2019 19:30
Chapel, 65’

Meet the artists after the show on 04.12

In the beginning, there was Ida Rubenstein, legendary Russian Ballet dancer, muse of Serge Diaghilev, who created a sensation in Paris at the beginning of the 20th century through her charisma, beauty, and fiery presence. In Salomé by Oscar Wilde, the dancer stripped off her costume - the famous dance of the seven veils! - And bared herself completely. Immediate triumph and reputation. Through this liberating and provocative act, Ida Rubinstein entered into the history of dance.

One century later, Lara Barsacq goes in search of the muse, who is a flawless source of inspiration for her. On stage, three artists celebrate the memory, glory, and absence of Ida. Blending the historical and trivial, the grandiose and absurd, personal memories and archives, Lara Barsacq, the great grand-niece of Léon Bakst, the brilliant painter and Russian Ballet set designer, composed an ode to freedom and to the protective figures who inspire energy and audacity. It is a hymn to poetry and dance as an invention of the self.

Price : 14/10 eur
Possibility to combine with Forces by Leslie Mannès, Thomas Turine & Vincent Lemaître
COMBO : 24/16 eur > http://bit.ly/2mdGp4g

Creation and performance :
Lara Barsacq, Marta Capaccioli, Elisa Yvelin
Artistic advisor :
Gaël Santisteva
Scenography and costumes :
Sofie Durnez
Props assistant :
Ben Berckmoes
Light :
Kurt Lefevre
Music :
Nicolai Tcherepnin, Claude Debussy, Maurice Ravel, Snow Beard, Tim Coenen, Lara Barsacq, Gaël Santisteva
Production :
Gilbert & Stock
Co-production :
Charleroi danse - Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Les Brigittines
Residencies :
La Raffinerie - Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Les Brigittines, Grand Studio, Le Théâtre de Liège, Honolulu (Nantes)
Supported by :
Ministère de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles - Service de la danse, Wallonie- Bruxelles International, Grand Studio
Pictures :
Stanislav Dobak
Thanks to :
Kylie Walters, Caroline Godart, Joachim Latarget, Max Latarget, Sarah Vanhee, Emily Gayle, Sophie Perez, Boris Charmatz, Laura Aris, Julie Nicod, Delphine Michel, Vincent Sterpin, An Breugelmans , Seppe Brouckaert, Myriam Chekhemani and Quentin Legrand