• 21.10.2021 21:00
  • 22+23.10.2021 20:30
Chapel, 60’

Presence of text in French
Meet the artists after the show on 21.10

Politics of Worst and Hope

Galvanized by the statements made by the philosopher Alain Deneault on Radio-Canada about tax evasions, Alix Dufresne and Marc Béland rise up in a virulent and playful choreography, interspersed with hints of pamphlet-speak.

The soundbites are accompanied by rushed, absurd and insane gymnastic dance to get the spectator feel the consequences of a perverse system that is leaving no one untouched. In the guise of astute and insightful clowns, Alix Dufresne and Daniel Parent, who here takes over Marc Béland's role, mischievously translate the citizens’ anger and powerlessness towards that immense, lawful deception of tax havens and of governments that do not assume their responsibilities and have fallen prey to a handful of oligarchs who are masters of trickery and scams.

____

The performance takes place within the framework of the themed evenings Politics of Worst and Hope. Les Brigittines will be presenting four original and incisive performances around highly topical themes of today.

See also:

Possibility to buy a combi-ticket with the show Pleasant Island.

A creation from :
Alix Dufresne + Marc Béland
Concept, performance :
Alix Dufresne, Daniel Parent
Artistic advices :
Sophie Corriveau
Dramaturgy :
Andréanne Roy
Sound composition :
Larsen Lupin
Costumes, stage design :
Odile Gamache
Light design :
Cédric Delorme-Bouchard
Technical direction, stage :
Seoyoung Park
Production :
Alix Dufresne + Marc Béland
Executive production (creation) :
LA SERRE – arts vivants
Executive production (distribution), development :
DLD – Daniel Léveillé Danse
Creation residencies :
Carrefour culturel de Notre-Dame-des- Prairies (Montréal), Compagnie Marie Chouinard (Montréal), Festival Quartiers Danses (Montréal), Kunstencentrum BUDA (Courtrai), Les Brigittines, Maison de la culture du Plateau-Mont-Royal (Montréal), Théâtre du Marais (Val- Morin)
Supported by :
Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Conseil des arts de Montréal
Pictures :
Xavier Laliberté

• 21.10.2021 21:00
  • 22+23.10.2021 20:30
Chapelle, 60’

Présence de texte en français
Rencontre avec les artistes à l'issue de la représentation du 21.10

Politique du pire et de l'espoir

Galvanisés par une interview du philosophe Alain Deneault sur l’évasion fiscale diffusée par Radio-Canada, Alix Dufresne et Marc Béland se révoltent à leur tour dans une chorégraphie virulente et ludique aux accents de pamphlet.

Une danse gymnique haletante, absurde, farfelue accompagne le documentaire sonore afin de faire ressentir au spectateur les conséquences d’un système pervers qui nous affecte tous. Clowns lucides et vifs, Alix Dufresne et Daniel Parent, qui reprend ici le rôle de Marc Béland, traduisent avec une acuité malicieuse la rage et l’impuissance des citoyens face à la grande escroquerie légalisée des paradis fiscaux et à la déresponsabilisation des gouvernements tombés aux mains d’une poignée d’oligarques experts en ruses et en arnaques.
_______

Le spectacle est présenté dans le cadre des soirées thématiques Politique du pire et de l’espoir. Autour de problématiques interpellantes d’aujourd’hui, Les Brigittines présentent quatre propositions particulières dans leur forme et aiguës dans leur propos.

À voir également :

Possibilité d'achat d'un ticket combiné avec le spectacle Pleasant Island.

Une création de :
Alix Dufresne + Marc Béland
Interprétation :
Alix Dufresne, Daniel Parent
Regard artistique :
Sophie Corriveau
Dramaturgie :
Andréanne Roy
Composition sonore :
Larsen Lupin
Costumes, scénographie :
Odile Gamache
Lumières :
Cédric Delorme-Bouchard
Direction technique, régie :
Seoyoung Park
Production :
Alix Dufresne + Marc Béland
Production déléguée (création) :
LA SERRE – arts vivants
Production déléguée (diffusion), développement :
DLD – Daniel Léveillé Danse
Résidences de création :
Carrefour culturel de Notre-Dame-des- Prairies (Montréal), Compagnie Marie Chouinard (Montréal), Festival Quartiers Danses (Montréal), Kunstencentrum BUDA (Courtrai), Les Brigittines, Maison de la culture du Plateau-Mont-Royal (Montréal), Théâtre du Marais (Val- Morin)
Avec le soutien de :
Conseil des arts du Canada, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Conseil des arts de Montréal
Photos :
Xavier Laliberté