• 19—22.04.2017
Chapel

The Brussels cultural centres Beursschouwburg and Les Brigittines are organising a house swap and are inviting the public to take a look on the other side!

The other side? Yes! We mean the Dutch-speaking side. Or the French-speaking side. Depending on which way you look at it … ;) Beursschouwburg and Les Brigittines are just over one kilometre removed from each other and represent a different trail, at least theoretically: the Dutch-speaking and French-speaking. Is there an artistic language barrier as such? Does art on the other side of the border look the same? We are going out to investigate and taking our public with us! How easy is it to find the way to ‘the other’?

And that’s why we’re swapping houses. For a few days, Beursschouwburg, including mice, artists and kitchen sink, will be moving to Les Brigittines. And vice versa. What if we answer the phone in Ortsstraat with: “Bonjour, Les Brigittines”, or with “Met Beursschouwburg, goeiemorgen” in Kleine Brigittinestraat?

So if you need us, we’ll be elsewhere. With a fantastic artistic programme and … a game. We’re inviting all the people from Brussels and the Brussels organisations, authorities, companies,… to trade me, swap me and share me to your hearts’ content. The brief? Take someone else’s place for a change: your neighbour, your partner or your fellow-manager at another establishment.

The confrontation with ‘the other’ is an enriching experience, come what may, and makes you question your identity. B-swap for life!

Together, the Beursschouwburg and Les Brigittines organise a great event based on the principle of trading, that we could very well call swapping.
We will blur the lines of our identities, our habits, and our spaces, to take over our partners' and invent new ones. 
Each theatre proposes a programme in the location of the other. The teams of both places will become one and will work together on all the stages to realise this project. We have a secret wish to extend this exchange to other structures, even the entire city!

Check here the programme!

• 19—22.04.2017
Chapelle

Les deux scènes bruxelloises, le Beursschouwburg et Les Brigittines, organisent un échange de maisons et invitent le public à venir jeter un coup d’œil « de l’autre côté »! 

De l’autre côté ? Nous parlons du côté néerlandophone. Ou du côté francophone, c’est selon l’endroit où vous vous trouvez... ;-).  Le Beursschouwburg et Les Brigittines sont éloignés d’un bon kilomètre et représentent (en théorie) un circuit différent : le néerlandophone et le francophone. Mais pouvons-nous parler d’une frontière linguistique artistique ? L’art adopte-t-il un aspect différent d’un côté et de l’autre ? Nous avons décidé de mener l’enquête et nous entraînons notre public avec nous ! Sera-t-il difficile de trouver le chemin vers « l’autre » ?

Voilà pourquoi nous échangerons nos maisons. Quelques jours durant, le Beursschouwburg transférera ses cliques, ses claques et ses artistes aux Brigittines. Et vice versa. Que se passera-t-il lorsque, rue Orts, nous répondrons au téléphone: “Les Brigittines, bonjour”, alors qu’à la petite rue des Brigittines on entendra “Met Beursschouwburg, goeiemorgen” ?

Donc si vous nous cherchez : allez voir ailleurs si nous y sommes. Avec un fantastique programme artistique et avec ... un jeu. Nous invitons tous les Bruxellois et les organisations, les associations, les entreprises… bruxelloises à participer à l’échange, au partage, et à « swapper » à fond la caisse. Le pari ? Prenez pour une fois la place de l’autre : votre voisin, votre partenaire ou votre collègue-directeur dans un autre théâtre !

La confrontation avec « l’autre » est déjà une expérience enrichissante qui vous force à remettre en question votre propre identité.  B-swap for life !

Programmation disponible ici.