• 01.12.2018 22:15
Mezzo, 30’

Avant-Première

Working Title Festival

Walking is one of our fundamental ways of relating to the world, deeply engrained in our neuro-motor system. In Farmer Train Swirl, locomotion is conveyed as the empathic medium between the spectator’s and the performer’s body. The walk progressively transforms itself into complex and musical feet constellations, revealing the vast step vocabulary of House dance.

Embracing the idea that ‘choreography is a negotiation with the patterns your body is thinking’ (Jonathan Burrows), this solo aims to open up a choreographic space in which one of our most fundamental somatic skills is brought into dialogue with the rich stepping lexicon of House dance and, through this interplay, reinvented.

Cassiel Gaubegraduated at P.A.R.T.S. in 2016. As a performer, he collaborated with Benjamin Vandewalle, Fabrice Samyn and Manon Santkin. In 2017, he was granted the Belgian VOCATIO fund to enable him to develop his own work as a choreographer. Cassiel makes work at the intersection of contemporary dance, Hip hop and Clubbing. In 2019, he is invited as artist in residence at La Ménagerie de Verre in Paris, where he will create the group piece Trails & Grooves, which builds on the research started in the solo Farmer Train Swirl.

Creation :
Cassiel Gaube
Technical support & light :
Luc Schaltin
Production :
Hiros
Co-production :
Charleroi Danse
With support from :
the Flemish Community Commission (VGC), workspacebrussels, Kunstencentrum BUDA, KAAP, deSingel, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, De School van Gaasbeek
Artistic advice :
Liza Baliasnaja, Theo Livesey, Manon Santkin
Thanks to :
Monastère de Clerlande
Photos :
Portrait photo: © Laurence Heintz Project photo : © Cassiel Gaube

• 01.12.2018 22:15
Mezzo, 30’

Avant-première

Working Title Festival

La marche est l’une de nos façons fondamentales d'entrer en relation avec le monde, profondément ancrée dans notre système neuromoteur. Dans Farmer Train Swirl, la locomotion est véhiculée comme médium empathique entre le corps du spectateur et celui de l’artiste. La marche se transforme progressivement en constellations de pieds complexes et musicales, révélant le vaste vocabulaire des pas de la danse House.

Embrassant l’idée que « la chorégraphie est une négociation avec les schémas de pensée de votre corps » (Jonathan Burrows), ce solo vise à ouvrir un espace chorégraphique dans lequel l’une de nos compétences somatiques les plus fondamentales est mise en dialogue avec le riche lexique de la danse House et, par cette interaction, réinventée.

Cassiel Gaubea gradué à P.A.R.T.S. en 2016. En tant que performeur, il a collaboré avec Benjamin Vandewalle, Fabrice Samyn et Manon Santkin. En 2017, il reçoit le fonds belge VOCATIO qui lui permet de développer son propre travail de chorégraphe. Cassiel travaille à l'intersection de la danse contemporaine et de la danse hip-hop et Clubbing. En 2019, il est invité comme artiste en résidence à La Ménagerie de Verre à Paris, où il créera la pièce de groupe Trails & Grooves, qui s'appuie sur la recherche commencée dans le solo Farmer Train Swirl.

Création :
Cassiel Gaube
Soutien technique et lumières :
Luc Schaltin
Production :
Hiros
Coproduction :
Charleroi danse
Avec le soutien de :
VGC, workspacebrussels, Kunstencentrum BUDA, KAAP, deSingel, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek, De School van Gaasbeek
Conseil artistique :
Liza Baliasnaja, Theo Livesey, Manon Santkin
Remerciements :
Monastère de Clerlande
Photos :
Photo portrait: © Laurence Heintz // Photo projet: © Cassiel Gaube