• 30.11.2018 14:00, 20:00
Mezzo, 180’

14:00 > NL
20:00 > EN
Aftertalk with soup and bread included

Working Title Festival

The Pain of Others is a conversation performance in which thinking and speaking about pain is given a central place. Theatre maker Peter Aers spoke with scientists, psychiatrists, futurologists, children and adults who suffer physically or psychologically, and artists who focus on pain in their work. Based on this experience, in The Pain of Others, he asks philosophical questions such as: can you share individual pain with a community? Does the way you talk about pain change the way you experience pain?

With his conversational performances Peter Aers creates idiosyncratic work on the border between theatre, participation and reflection. With an open and curious gaze he organizes exercises in speaking, in which the dialogue with the audience is central. The Pain of Othersis the fourth part in the series Everything Depends on How a Thing is Thought, in which Peter Aers investigates how we can speak in a community and what role power, ethics and aesthetics play in this process.

Peter Aersis a theatre maker from Ghent. He studied philosophy in Ghent and Geneva and theatre in Brussels. Since 2014 he has been artist in residence at Vooruit arts centre (Ghent). The creation of his conversational performances is embedded in a long-term artistic practice that puts dialogue with people first. His collaborations with therapeutic communities, prisoners, socratic discussion partners or scientists are characteristic of his approach.

Concept :
Peter Aers
Creation :
Peter Aers, Bart Capelle, Melissa Mabesoone, Erika Sprey, Kris Van Oudenhove
Co-production :
Vooruit, KAAP, Workspacebrussels & the Flemish Community
Photos :
The Pain of Others: © Michiel Vandevijver Portrait-photo: © Peter Aers
Thanks to :
Winny Ang, Amy De Schutter, Macarius Basisschool, KASK and Heike Langsdorf & Eef Cornelissen

• 30.11.2018 14:00, 20:00
Mezzo, 180’

14:00 > NL
20:00 > EN
Aftertalk avec soupe et pain compris

Working Title Festival

The Pain of Others est une performance de conversation dans laquelle la pensée et la parole sur la douleur occupent une place centrale. Le metteur en scène Peter Aers s’est entretenu avec des scientifiques, des psychiatres, des futurologues, des enfants et des adultes qui souffrent physiquement ou psychologiquement, et des artistes dont le travail s’appuie essentiellement sur la douleur. Partant de cette expérience, il pose dans The Pain of Othersdes questions philosophiques telles que : Peut-on partager une douleur individuelle avec une communauté ? La façon dont on parle de la douleur change-t-elle la façon dont on ressent la douleur ?

Avec ses performances conversationnelles, Peter Aers crée une œuvre unique à la frontière entre le théâtre, la participation et la réflexion. Avec un regard ouvert et curieux, il organise des exercices de conversation, où le dialogue avec le public est au centre. The Pain of Othersest le quatrième volet de la série Everything Depends on How a Thing is Thing is Thought, dans laquelle Peter Aers examine comment nous pouvons parler dans une communauté et quel rôle le pouvoir, l’éthique et l’esthétique y jouent.

Peter Aersest un créateur de théâtre gantois. Il a étudié la philosophie à Gand et à Genève et le théâtre à Bruxelles. Depuis 2014, il est artiste en résidence au centre artistique Vooruit (Gand). La création de ses performances conversationnelles s’inscrit dans une pratique artistique à long terme qui privilégie le dialogue avec les gens. Ses collaborations avec des communautés thérapeutiques, des détenus, des interlocuteurs socratiques ou des scientifiques en sont caractéristiques.

Concept :
Peter Aers
Création :
Peter Aers, Bart Capelle, Melissa Mabesoone, Erika Sprey, Kris Van Oudenhove
Coproduction :
Vooruit, KAAP, Workspacebrussels & the Flemish Community
Photos :
The Pain of Others: © Michiel Vandevijver Photo-portrait: © Peter Aers
Remerciements :
Winny Ang, Amy De Schutter, Macarius Basisschool, KASK and Heike Langsdorf & Eef Cornelissen